Public and Optional Holidays in Pakistan 2020 Notification

By | December 5, 2019

Government of Pakistan, Ministry of Interior Islamabad has issued the official Notification letter on 5th December, 2019 in connection with public and optional holidays in Pakistan 2020 notification.

The Public and Optional holidays regarding festivals of Muslims and Minorities for the Calendar Year 2020 would be as under:

Public Holidays

S.NoName of OccasionDays

Dates during year 2020


Kashmir DayWednesday5th February, 2020
2Pakistan DayMonday

23rd March, 2020


Labour DayFriday1st May, 2020
4Eid-ul-Fitr (1st Shawal 1441 A.H)Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday

25th , 26th and 27th May 2020


Eid-ul-Azha (10th Zil Haj 1441 A.H)Friday, Saturday and Sunday31st July, 1st and 2nd August 2020
6Independence DayFriday

14th August 2020


Ashura (9th & 10th Moharram 1442 A.H)Saturday & Sunday29th & 30th August, 2020
8Eid Milad-un-Nabi (12th Rabi-ul-Awwal 1442 A.H)Friday

30th October, 2020


Quaid-e-Azam Day/ChristmasFriday25th December, 2020
10Day after ChristmasSaturday

26th December, 2020 (For Christians Only)

The following will be Bank Holidays. However, on these days the Banks / DFls / MFBs will remain closed for public but NOT for their employees:

Bank Holidays


Day / Date


1st January, 2020 (Wednesday)


24th April, 2020 (Friday)  corresponding to 1st Ramazan 1441AH (subject to appearance of moon)


1st July, 2020 (Wednesday)


In case of Muslim Festivals, the dates of Holidays are based on anticipated dates and are subject to appearance of moon for which a separate notification will be issued by M/o Interior.

Optional Holidays


Name of OccasionDays

Dates during year 2020


New Year DayWednesday1st January, 2020
2Basant  PunchamiWednesday

29th January, 2020


ShivaratriFriday21st Feb, 2020

9th March,  2020


DulhandiTuesday10th March, 2020
6Shab-e-Meraj (27 Rajab 1441 A.H)Monday

23rd March, 2020


Shab-e-Barat (15th Shaban 1441 A.H)Thursday9th April, 2020
8Good FridayFriday

10th April, 2020


Easter / Day after EasterSunday & Monday12th and 13th April, 2020

13th April, 2020


Eid-e-Rizwan (Bahai’s Community only)Monday20th April, 2020
12Buddha PurnimaThursday

7th May, 2020


Janam AshtamiTuesday11th August, 2020
14Nauroze (Parsi’s New Year Day)Sunday

16th August, 2020


Birthday of Lord Zoroaster (Khordad Sal)Friday21st August, 2020
16Chehlum (20th Safar 1442 A.H)Thursday

8th October, 2020


Durga PoojaFriday23rd October, 2020

25th October, 2020


Birthday of Guru Valmik Sawami JiSaturday31st October, 2020

14th November, 2020


Guru Nanak’s BirthdayMonday30th November, 2020
22Giyarvee Shareef (11th Rabi-Us-Sani 1442 A.H)Saturday

28th November, 2020

Government servants desiring to avail themselves of Optional Holidays shall take prior permission of the Head of Office concerned and no Government Servant shall be granted more than one optional holiday in the case of Muslims and three optional holidays for Non-Muslims, in a calendar year.

The grant of this concession should not result in any dislocation of work. In the case of Muslim optional holidays, the number of persons permitted to avail optional holidays should be regulated In a manner so as to adequate staff is available for proper continuance of the work.

The optional holidays are denominational and may be allowed at the discretion of the Head of Office, provided that work is not suffered.

A Government Servant should not ordinary be refused an Optional Holiday that is of religious significance to him and the refusal is like to decrease the number of such holidays to which she/he is entitled.

Holidays 2020-page-001

Holidays 2020-page-002

Holidays 2020-page-003

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *